FIELD NOTES

5 Jan

HAITI: So many things jump up at you on a trip to Haiti, ranging from the miseries of destruction and the results of bondage to the amazing life skills, will to freedom, and creativity of people on the ground. These pictures are from my recent trip there to participate in the Haitian Studies Association Conference where I spoke about the linguistic and racial representations of Haitians and Haitian-Dominicans in the Dominican Republic.  On my day off, I joined a fascinating tour of the arts in Port-au-Prince during which I had the opportunity to visit different parts of the city and meet people. I will not look for words to describe all the sensations evoked by the sights. These are some of the images I captured, or rather, images that captured me.

DSC04117DSC04122DSC04138DSC04151DSC04158DSC04160DSC04184 DSC04192DSC04202DSC04211 DSC04190

Leave a Reply

